Accreditation is the process of assuring and advancing the quality of higher education institutions’ campuses, departments, and programs through reviews by outside agencies.  There are two types of accreditation at the University of Minnesota:

  • Institutional accreditation is a comprehensive review by a private, nongovernmental organization specifically created to review higher education institutions and programs for quality. 

    All campuses of the University of Minnesota operate with the accreditation of the Higher Learning Commission. The Twin Cities campus has been accredited continuously since 1913. The Duluth campus has been accredited since 1968, while the Morris and Crookston campuses were first accredited in 1970 and 1971. The Rochester and Twin Cities campuses are accredited jointly. Each campus is accredited to offer the bachelor's degree; the Twin Cities and Duluth campuses are accredited to offer the master's degree; and the Twin Cities campus is accredited to grant doctoral and professional degrees.

    Learn more about the current accreditation status of each campus:

    Twin Cities & Rochester | Crookston | DuluthMorris

  • Specialized accreditation refers to the review of a specific academic program. The evaluation is done by a specialized accrediting body and is often associated with a national professional organization or with a specific discipline. View the complete list of University of Minnesota Specialized and Professional Accreditation (Spring 2021 revision). This list is updated biannually. The next update will be in spring of 2023.