March 7, 2017: Statement on updated executive order on immigration

Dear Students, Faculty, and Staff,

Yesterday President Trump signed an updated executive order on immigration that, among other provisions, stipulates that citizens of Iran, Syria, Somalia, Sudan, Libya, and Yemen will not be granted a visa to enter the U.S. for ninety days, effective March 16, 2017. The earlier executive order issued on January 27, 2017, has been revoked.

We understand the anxiety and concern this new executive order causes for many members of our University community, and we reiterate our compassion and support for them. The University is a truly global institution, and we will continue to welcome people from around the world. We value all that they bring to our campuses and the trust they place in us for their education, employment, and training. 

To ensure that all who are affected by immigration policy changes have access to resources and support, President Kaler last week announced the creation of an immigration response team. This team will provide outreach to the greater University community on the impact of this most recent executive order, immigration regulations, and issues connected with DACA and immigration status.

Please watch for further announcements and additional information after spring break.

Until then, updates can be found on this resource and information page on our Campus Climate website.

Thank you for joining with us in working to ensure a safe, welcoming and respectful campus climate across our entire University of Minnesota system.


Karen Hanson
Executive Vice President and Provost

Meredith McQuaid
Associate Vice President and Dean, International Programs