National Search, Executive Vice President & Provost

The University of Minnesota has announced plans to launch a national search for its next executive vice president and provost and chief academic officer.

A search committee was convened in April 2019 by President-designate Joan T.A. Gabel. The committee is co-chaired by Christopher Cramer, vice president for research and professor, College of Science and Engineering; and Amy Pittenger, Faculty Consultative Committee chair and associate professor, College of Pharmacy.

A position profile was posted in late spring, following the appointment of the search committee that informed the profile and to advance a robust and inclusive search process. The schedule anticipates recruitment of candidates to take place during summer 2019, with the aim of identifying finalists for public interviews to take place in fall 2019. The global search firm of Korn Ferry has been engaged to assist the search committee with sourcing and recruiting a diverse, highly qualified pool of academic leaders for this critical University of Minnesota position.


Please use this form to provide comments to the search committee cochairs to help inform planning for a strong and inclusive EVPP search process and to provide input for the position profile that will be used to recruit an outstanding pool of candidates.

(Comments will not be posted online. Nominations for members to serve on the search committee should be emailed to Angie Pesch at [email protected].)

EVPP Search Comment Form

Position Profile

The University of Minnesota is seeking applications and nominations for Executive Vice President and Provost (EVPP). As the institution’s chief academic officer, the EVPP will work in partnership with the University’s incoming President Joan T. A. Gabel to advance the University’s reputation as one of the world’s most renowned public research universities.

View Position Profile

Nominations and Applications

The priority deadline for the submission of applications is Friday, July 12, 2019. Review of applications for the position will commence immediately and continue until the position is filled. 

Applications should include:

  1. Detailed CV
  2. Letter of interest that addresses the responsibilities and requirements described above, as well as the applicant’s motivation to apply.

    *PDF is the preferred version of submission of documents.

To ensure full consideration, inquiries, nominations, and applications should be submitted electronically, in strict confidence, to: [email protected]

For More Information

For more information about the search process, please contact: Kate Stuckert, Senior Assistant to the President, [email protected], 612-625-8844. (Nominations for members to serve on the search committee should be emailed to Angie Pesch, [email protected].)

The University of Minnesota shall provide equal access to and opportunity in its programs, facilities, and employment without regard to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, gender, age, marital status, disability, public assistance status, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression.

The University's mission, carried out on multiple campuses and throughout the state, is threefold: research and discovery, teaching and learning, and outreach and public service.

Search Updates

Related Links

Search Committee Members

Noro Andriamanalina
Director, Academic and Professional Development, and Graduate School

Chris Cramer
Vice President for Research, Search Committee Co-Chair

Connie Delaney
Dean, School of Nursing

Beverly Durgan
Dean, University of Minnesota Extension

Andrew Durkot
Professional Student, Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, and VP-Elect, Professional Student Government;

James Farnsworth
Undergraduate Student, College of Education and Human Development, and Communications Director, Minnesota Student Association;

Tom Fisher
Professor and Director, Minnesota Design Center, College of Design

Michael Goh
Vice President for Equity and Diversity

Jennifer Goodnough
Associate Professor, Division of Science and Math, University of Minnesota Morris

Tabitha Grier-Reed
Associate Professor, Department of Family Social Science, College of Education and Human Development

Katherine Hayes
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and American Indian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

Fionnuala Ní Aoláin
Regents Professor and Director, Human Rights Center, Law School

Amy Pittenger
FCC Chair and Professor, College of Pharmacy, Search Committee Co-Chair

Raj Singh
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs and Professor, Department of Finance, Carlson School of Management

Robert Sterner
Professor of Biology, and Director, Large Lakes Observatory, Swenson College of Science and Engineering, University of Minnesota Duluth

David Tilman
Regents Professor and McKnight Presidential Chair, Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior, College of Biological Sciences

Nina Wang
Graduate Program Coordinator and M.Ed. Advisor, Department of Kinesiology, College of Education and Human Development

Keelin Yenney-Henderson
Academic Advisor, College of Liberal Arts, and PhD, College of Education and Human Development