Office Directory

Vice Provosts & Senior Administrative Leaders

Danita Brown Young
Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
(612) 626-1242
109 Appleby Hall
dbyoung@umn.edu

Please see the OSA website for a complete vice provost staff and unit listing

Deb Cran
Chief of Staff
(612) 626-9580
235 Morrill Hall
cranx001@umn.edu

  • General point of contact for the office
  • Chief contact for system issues
  • Provost's liaison to senior academic and administrative leaders
  • Academic administration
  • Support implementation of provost's work plan
  • Provost's liaison for human resources, leadership searches and appointments

Raymond Duvall
Special Assistant to the Provost for Grand Challenges Research
(612) 625-2286
236 Morrill Hall
rduvall@umn.edu

  • Implementation of Strategic Plan's Grand Challenges Research Initiative
  • Special projects

Andrew Furco
Associate Vice President for Public Engagement
(612) 624-6876
120 Morrill Hall
afurco@umn.edu

Please see the Office for Public Engagement website for a complete staff and unit listing

Scott Lanyon
Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Education
(612) 625-2809
321 Johnston Hall
slanyon@umn.edu

Please see the Graduate School website  for a complete vice provost staff and unit listing

Robert McMaster
Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
(612) 626-9425
220-B Morrill Hall
mcmaster@umn.edu

Please see the OUE website for a complete vice provost staff and unit listing

Meredith McQuaid
Associate Vice President and Dean of International Programs
(612) 626-8948
100 University International Center
mcqua004@umn.edu

Please see the GPS Alliance website for a complete staff and unit listing

Rebecca Ropers-Huilman
Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs
(612) 626-9545
110 Morrill Hall
ropers@umn.edu

Please see the VPFAA website for a complete vice provost staff and unit listing

Henning Schroeder
Special Assistant to the Provost for Professional Education
(612) 301-1702
(612) 625-2809
160C Morrill Hall
schro601@umn.edu

Joseph Shultz
Deputy Chief of Staff
(612) 626-6544
170H Morrill Hall
shul0048@umn.edu

  • Accreditation Liaison to the Higher Learning Commission
  • Assessment of Student Learning (with Vice Provost McMaster)
  • Board of Regents coordination
  • Compact support
  • General office coordination
  • Outside consulting policy

Provost's Office Staff

Carla Carlson
Special Consultant
(612) 625-6755
419 Morrill Hall
carlsonc@umn.edu

  • Strategic planning implementation team
  • Provost’s liaison to the Corporate Engagement Work Group
  • Consultant to the Office for Public Engagement Special projects

Elizabeth Duykers
Administrative Associate
(612) 626-1027
170N Morrill Hall
edd@umn.edu

  • Project and event coordination
  • Web development and content management assistance
  • General operations support

Brandt Hinterberg
Developer
(612) 626-6414
170M Morrill Hall
hinte019@umn.edu

  • Web design and development for Provost and Vice Provost units

Cecilia Mazumdar Stanger
Principal Office and Administrative Specialist
(612) 626-9265
234 Morrill Hall
mazu0065@umn.edu

  • Office-wide clerical support
  • Project and activity assistance

Charlot Meyer
Web Project Lead
(612) 626-4216
170A Morrill Hall
meyer150@umn.edu

  • Web design and development for Provost and Vice Provost units

Ollie Moltaji
Graphic/Multimedia Designer
(612) 624-4545
170M Morrill Hall
mmoltaji@umn.edu

  • Web design and development for Provost and Vice Provost units

Angie Pesch
Executive Assistant
(612) 624-2223
234 Morrill Hall
apesch@umn.edu

  • Provost calendar and travel
  • Provost daily activities support
  • General office coordination

Emily Ronning
Assistant to the Provost
(612) 626-8031
170D Morrill Hall
ronn0044@umn.edu

  • Academic Plan Proposal Review and Approval
  • Ford Lecture Series
  • Provost's Conversation Series
  • Imagine Fund

Bri Rosen-Stirewalt
Principal Secretary
(612) 301-9528
234 Morrill Hall
rosen992@umn.edu

  • Office-wide clerical support
  • First point of contact in main office
  • Project and activity assistance

Michelle Tillman
Administrative Associate
(612) 625-1105
234 Morrill Hall
mtillman@umn.edu

  • Administrative support to Deb Cran
  • Backup in the absence of Angie Pesch

Kate Tyler
Assistant to the Provost
(612) 626-8535
130F Morrill Hall
ktyler@umn.edu

  • Academic administration and strategic initiatives for Office of the Provost
  • Strategic planning implementation
  • Provost’s liaison to Institute for Advanced Study, 
    Center for Educational Innovation, Northrop
  • Strategic communications/content consultant for Office of
    the Executive Vice President and Provost
  • Support Provost's Office work-plan advancement as 
    assistant to chief of staff

Marlo Welshons
Assistant to the Provost
(612) 625-0563
170C Morrill Hall
welsh066@umn.edu

  • Academic Program Review process coordination
  • Policy Liaison
  • Provost's Office communications lead
  • Provost speaking engagement coordination and speechwriting
  • Provost's Office website content management

See also: